News Politico Top Stories

Ninth Assembly: Lawan, others’ victory has ended PDP’s impunity – APC

By Idowu Isamotu, Abuja

Following the victory of candidates of ruling All Progressives Congress in Tuesday’s election of principal officers of the ninth National Assembly, the party has launched an attack on the main opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP), alleging it of brazen impunity and lawlessness.

The APC, while congratulating President Muhammadu Buhari, its National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole; the governors; the National Executive Committee; the National Working Committee; other party leaders; members and supporters on the success of its candidates in a statement made available to journalists said the victories of its candidates signalled the defeat of impunity of a minority party.

According to a statement signed by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Lanre Issa-Onilu, the landslide victory by APC candidates is a triumph of democracy and party politics over the brazen lawlessness of anti-democratic forces in the opposition party.

The statement read, “Our party has consistently maintained that the leadership of the National Assembly belongs to the party in the majority. The outcome of these elections has clearly validated our party’s efforts to institutionalise party discipline and loyalty.

“It is triumph of internal democracy, anchored on consensus building, to which we lay claim, over anti-democratic methods that the Peoples Democratic Party had foisted on our democracy over 16 years.

“We are deeply humbled by the honour bestowed on our great party. While members of our great party are entitled to savour this victory, we call on all to avoid pettiness and to continue to stretch hands of fellowship to progressive forces in other political parties and groups to consolidate our democracy.

“On the strength of our overwhelming numerical strength in the just inaugurated ninth National Assembly and election of the party’s adopted candidates as presiding officers in its two chambers, we must recommit to cooperation between the executive and legislative arms of government.”

Senator Ahmad Lawan from Yobe State was elected as the President of the Senate; Senator Ovie Omo-Agege from Delta State was elected deputy Senate President while Femi Gbajabiamila and Idris Wase were elected as the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives respectively.

Related Posts