"> PDP Wins Delta Assembly By-Election - Sahel Standard
May 12, 2021
Commentary News Politico Top Stories

PDP Wins Delta Assembly By-Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Mr Jude Ogbimi winner of Saturday’s House of Assembly by-election into Isoko North constituency of Delta State.

The Returning Officer for the by-election, Professor Christopher Onosemuode of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun, FUPRE who announced the result, said 11 political parties contested in the by-election.

Onosemuode, who is the Dean of Postgraduate School, FUPRE, announced that Mr Jude Ogbimi scored 29,421 votes to defeat eight other candidates. He said the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Mr Emmanuel Tabuko, came a distant second with 2,543 votes while the candidate of the ADP, Mr Agose Ogagaoghene, came third with 66 votes.

“I, Prof Christopher Onosemuode of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, FUPRE, Effurun, Delta State, hereby declare that Mr Jude Ogbimi of the PDP having scored the highest number of valid votes is hereby declared winner of the Isoko North Constituency by-election and returned elected. The PDP candidate is hereby declared winner in line with electoral guidelines.”Prof Onosemuode said.

The House of Assembly by-election followed the death of former Majority Leader of the House, Mr Tim Kome Owhefere.


Please follow and like us:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *