"> Federal Government Inaugurates Governing Councils Of 5 Universities - Sahel Standard
May 11, 2021
Commentary News Top Stories Uncategorized

Federal Government Inaugurates Governing Councils Of 5 Universities

The Federal Government has inaugurated Governing Councils of five federal universities, four of whose councils were dissolved for their inability to discharge their duties in line with the provisions of the law.

The affected universities were the University of Lagos, the University of Port Harcourt, the University of Ibadan, and the Maritime University Okerenkoko.

The fifth university is the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, which had no council since the expiration of the tenure of the Dr Yemi Ogunbiyi-led Council, three months ago.

Inaugurating Council Members in Abuja, the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu said the Council Chairmen were selected after a considerable assessment of circumstances that led to the dissolution of the four councils and the need to ensure stability, continuity and rebuild confidence in the institutions.

“The drive to revamp the quality output of higher education in Nigeria rests on the shoulders of prominent citizens like the individuals that have been selected.

The Minister urged the Councils to adopt best practices and comply with statutory guidelines in the performance of their supervisory functions.

He advised the governing councils against conflicts which according to him are capable of undermining the smooth running of the institutions.

“The challenges which Governing Councils should tackle in the course of their tenure is the appointment of Principal Officers. In this regard, Councils should enlist the support of philanthropic organizations and individuals for additional funding of their institutions. Council can also explore other sources of revenue through endowments

The Council must ensure that proper attention and priority is accorded to relevant University Laws and Government Guidelines in the process of such appointments. the Minister added.

The newly appointed Chairmen are Chief John Odigie Oyegun Chairman Governing Council University of Ibadan, Chief Lanre Tejuosho Chaian University of Lagos Council, Sen. Andrew Uchendu

Chairman University of PortHarcourt, Chief Oscar Udoji, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and Dr Elias Eddi Courson Chairman Governing Council of the Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenko

Responding, the newly appointed Chairman of the University of Ibadan, Chief Odigie Oyegun pledged on behalf of Council Chairmen and members to play a significant pact in Breathing fresh life into Nigerian tertiary institutions”.

“I promise on behalf of my other colleagues that this team will not be part of the problems of our universities but we will build on existing success.

Earlier, the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission, Prof Rasheed Abubakar pointed that the task before the council is enormous and that the challenges of the universities are legendary.

The Minister of Education was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Sonny Echono.


Please follow and like us:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *