Osun Assembly appoints Laide Lawal, 2 others as Deputy Clerks

…charge them to be diligent in their new positions

Sequel to the final passage and assent of the clean copy of the “Osun State House of Assembly Service Commission (Establishment) (Amendment No (4) Bill, 2024”, by the Governor of the state, Sen. Ademola Adeleke, the three new positions got filled by deserving civil servants of the Osun state House of Assembly.

The Private Member Bill was presented to the House on the 25th March, 2024 and its Policy Trust unveiled that it is to make provisions for the appointment and remuneration for the positions of Deputy Clerks in the House of Assembly, with a view to assisting the Clerk of the House in his expansive responsibilities and to also serve as motivation for benefitting officers.

The Bill revealed that the Clerk of the House may be assisted by not more than three Deputy Clerks from among the serving Directors in the Assembly Service and must not be below the salary Grade Level fourteen(GL 14) equipped with adequate knowledge of administrative and Legislative business of the House of Assembly.

Consequently,the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon Adewale Egbedun announced the appointment of the trio of Messrs Laide Lawal(Director of Information and Public Relations), Rahim Kolapo(Director of Legislative Management) and Muyiwa Ayeni ( Director of Publications) got approved during the plenary session of the General Assembly.

Before his appointment, Mr Laide Lawal, a journalist has served in various capacities in Media Outfits and rose to the post of Director, Information and Public Relations of the House of Assembly. Similarly, Mr Raheem Sanusi was the Director, Legislative Management while Mr Muyiwa Ayeni was the Director of Publications, Osun State House of Assembly.

The Clerk, Mr Simeon Amusan, in his remarks, appreciated the State Governor for assenting to the new law, congratulated the speaker and the entire 8th Assembly for making history.

He also gave kudos to the members of the Assembly Service Commission for their fairness during the appointment process.

He said; “The appointees were chosen among the serving Directors in the Assembly with a view to assist the Clerk of the House in his expansive responsibilities.

“It also serves as motivation for benefitting officers and this will further enhance effectiveness and service delivery among others.”

Responding on behalf of the other two beneficiaries, Mr Laide Lawal, appreciated the Governor of Osun state and the Speaker. He expressed willingness to live up to the desired billings in their new appointments by not disappointing the entire Osun State House of Assembly.

Meanwhile, The House dissolved into the Committee of the Whole to make necessary amendments in The Osun State Public Political Office Holders Revised Remuneration Package Amendment No (2) Bill, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *