Osun Assembly Approves Tenure Extension For LG Caretaker Chairmen, Committees

The Osun State House of Assembly has approved the extension of tenure and reappointment of the 69 LCDA Caretaker Chairmen, Vice Chairmen, Scribes and their members from February to August 2024.

This followed a letter sent to the House through the Speaker by the State Governor, Sen. Dr. Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke, and read on the floor of the House during Plenary today Friday by the Honourable Speaker, Rt. Hon. Adewale Egbedun.

Moving a motion to that effect by the Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Babajide Kofoworola Adewunmi, representing Ede North State Constituency and seconded by the Chief Whip Hon. Adewale Akerele from Ilesa West State Constituency

Hon. Babajide Adewunmi however emphasised that in line with the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria as amended the State Assembly has the power to approve the extension.

The members, after much deliberation and assessment of their performances, adopted the motion and approved the request thereby extending the tenure of the Caretaker Committees to August 2024.

The Speaker congratulated and admonished the Caretaker Committees to continue to deliver dividends of democracy to the people at the grassroots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *