Egbedun emerges Osun 8th Assembly speaker

The member representing Odo-otin state constituency, Hon Adewale Egbedun has emerged speaker of the 8th Osun State House of Assembly.

Egbedun emerged speaker after being solely nominated at the inaugural seating of the 8th Assembly as proclaimed by Governor Ademola Adeleke.

The new Speaker is an indigene of Ashi in Odo-Otin Local Government Area of the state.

This is the first time a first timer will become the Speaker of the state parliament.

Akinyode Oyewusi representing Ife North state Constituency also emerged Deputy Speaker of the assembly after being solely nominated.

Hon. Babajide Kofoworola from Ede North Constituency as Majority Leader, Adekunle Oladimeji of Irepodun/Orolu Constituency as Deputy Majority Leader, while Olawale Akerele from Ilesa West emerged as Chief Whip and Afeez Ibrahim from Olaoluwa Constituency becomes the Deputy Chief Whip respectively.

Folorunso Ogundare representing Ayedaade constituency elected as the Leader (West Senatorial District), and Kanmi Ajibola, Leader (East Senatorial District), while the Leader (Central Senatorial District) is Kasope Abolarin from Ifedayo State Constituency.

The immediate-past Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Femi Popoola is the Minority Leader, as he is the only member of the opposition, All Progressives Congress (APC), in the 8th Assembly.

The inaugural plenary was attended by the Governor of the State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, his Deputy, Prince Kola Adewusi and top government functionaries and dignitaries across strata of the state amidst pump and glamour.

Similarly, the 8th Osun State House of Assembly consists of 25 People’s Democratic Party PDP members and one All Progressives Congress APC member.

It can be recalled that Speaker Adewale Egbedun took over as from former Speaker Timothy Owoeye of the 7th Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *