APC, other Parties’ Aspirants Vie for Yobe Governorship Tickets

No less than six governorship aspirants have emerged to contest the 2023 General Elections in Yobe State.

The aspirants, including the incumbent Governor Mai Mala Buni and Umar Ali of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Sheriff Abdulahi, Ali Tikau and Abba Gana Tata of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Ya’u Sabo of Action Alliance (AA) are to slug it out for governorship.

Mala, Abdullahi and the two PDP and AA aspirants are expected to lure party delegates for the three political parties.

Since 1999 the ruling parties were also the All People’s Party (APP), All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) and the current APC for the in the last six years.

The state has three senatorial districts of zone ‘A’ comprising Damaturu, Gujba, Gulani, Geidam, Yunusari and Tarmuwa local government areas while zone ‘B’ is made up of Fune, Fika Potiskum and Nangere whereas zone ‘C’ has Jakusko, Bade, Nguru, Machina, Karasuwa and Yusufari respectively.

Alhaji Mohammed Gadaka, the APC Chairman, added that between 2019 and 2022 the state had been enjoying relative peace despite the over a decade Boko Haram insurgency.

According to him, the restoration of peace will provide a leveling ground for the people exercise their voting rights.

“Consultative meetings of the governorship aspirants, are ongoing for the elective offices in Damaturu, the state capital,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *