The President of Iwo Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Mr Olusegun O. Dada Esq has called on the political class prioritise partnership with the private sector to grow the national economy.

Speaking after the second quarter meeting of chamber’s Executive Council held at Iwo over the weekend, Dada noted that no country can grow and create national prosperity if her leaders pay lip service to the growth and development of the private sector.

According to Dada, ” the strength of a nation is reflected in the extent of public sector support for the business class. The governance system must be structured in ways that services the private sector to create jobs, expand export and widen the Gross National Product(GDP). Political leaders must create enabling environment for business to thrive.

” I want to urge our political leaders to start seeing business as a potent partner in their bid to govern the state. It is time for government policies to be designed in ways that boost rather than impede business. One of our chamber leaders at the national level used to call on government to be a facilitator rather than a regulator of businesses.

” I wholly subscribe to this view as too much regulations kill rather than expand business. Regulators should become facilitators of business. By that, a thriving business sector will reduce high level of unemployment, expand the economy and increase foreign earnings. Then, the foreign exchange crisis will become manageable as naira will become stronger.

” We at Iwo Chamber of Commerce and Industry believes it is in the best interest of the political class to stop paying lip service to improved regulatory environment for business. Good governance is achievable only when there is prosperity in the society. What the political class promises the electorate can only be delivered through a thriving business- government partnership”, Mr Dada noted.

It would be recalled that Iwo Chamber of Commerce and Industry launched its operation last year with the election of its executive committee which includes the President, Olusegun O. Dada Esq; Alhaji Kudaisi Ismaila Esq as first Deputy President ; Mallam Olawale Rasheed as the second Deputy President and seven Vice Presidents namely First Vice President, Senator Adelere Oriolowo; Second Vice President: Alhaji Mokanju Musibau FCA; Third Vice President: Professor Waheed Hassan; Fourth Vice President: Otunba Jire Ayinla; Fifth Vice President: Akogun Olaposi Adiatu; Sixth Vice President: Adebayo Lasisi PhD, FCA; and Seventh Vice President: Mr Kabiru Adisa FCA

Sodeeq Adisa Atanda,
Director General.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *