Commissioner nominees to be unveiled July 7 – Osun Assembly

The Osun State House of Assembly has revealed that it will make public the names of the nominees for the cabinet of Governor Ademola Adeleke.

The Director of Information and Public Relations of the Assembly, Laide Lawal, made the declaration in a statement issued on Thursday.

Lawal said the list would be unveiled to the lawmakers and the entire public, at plenary.

“Consequent upon the receipt of the list of would-be commissioners of the Government of Osun State from the Governor, Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke, in line with the provisions of Section 192 (1) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the Speaker, Osun State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Adewale Egbedun, will tomorrow, Friday, July 7th, 2023, at the House Plenary, make the list public.

“The Speaker, according to the constitutional dictates, will read the said list out to the people of the state at the hallowed chamber of the Assembly during the plenary session of the House as a preparation towards the screening exercise for those who made the list.

“In view of the above, all the stakeholders in the state, especially media, are enjoined to take note of the above state assignment as partners in progress.”

DAILY POST recalls that the spokesperson for Governor Adeleke, Olawale Rasheed, confirmed on Tuesday, while speaking with journalists, that the list of cabinet nominees was ready.

Rasheed also confirmed that the list had already been sent to the Assembly via the Speaker.

He also said, “The governor and the state leadership have done the needful, and the public should expect the list to be made public sooner than later.”

Litigation over the outcome of the gubernatorial and general elections was listed as one of the factors that delayed the release of the cabinet list to the Assembly.

DAILY POST gathered that the delay has generated apprehension among the different interest groups within the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state, while others concluded that Governor Adeleke deliberately withheld the list from the last assembly, which had an All Progressives Congress (APC) majority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *