Ex-Ekiti Assembly Chief Whip, Aribasoye, emerges Speaker

Former Chairman, Ekiti State House of Assembly Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Adeoye Aribasoye of the All Progressives Congress, representing Ikole Constituency II, on Tuesday, emerged as Speaker of the state Legislative arm.

Aribasoye, also a former Chief Whip during the immediate past Assembly, emerged as the Speaker unopposed following the proclamation of the 26-member legislative body by the governor, Biodun OyebanjI, in line with the constitutional provision.

Also, Bolaji Olagbaju (APC, Ado Ekiti Constituency II), emerged unopposed as the Deputy Speaker of the 7th Assembly.

Other principal officials of the newly inaugurated Assembly are the Majority Leader, Tolulope Ige (APC, Ekiti South West II); Minority Leader, Dele Ogunsakin (Social Democratic Party, Ekiti East Constituency 1); Oluyomi Ayorinde (APC, Ido Osi II); Chief Whip, Bosede Olowookers (APC, Efon); and Deputy Chief Whip, Maryam Ogunlade (APC, Emure).

While speaking, Aribasoye said, “I am fully prepared for the assignment given to me. Though it may be daunting, it is surmountable. We are fully prepared to make laws that will bring about development in our dear state. Laws that will bring about meaningful impact to the lives of the people of Ekiti State will be passed during our tenure.”

The speaker said that the seventh assembly was prepared to work harmoniously with the Executive and Judiciary “to ensure that Ekiti people enjoy the dividends of democracy.

“We are prepared to join hands with all Ekiti stakeholders to take our state to the Eldorado that we desire.

“We are ready to work for the betterment of the citizens of this state. We are ready to be futuristic in our approach. We are ready to work to perform our major role in lawmaking representation and oversight and these we will do with good faith and with our zeal and vigour We are ready to render selfless service to our dear state,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *